Current portal location

Website content


Trade SIA in support of EU-China investment negotiations, Draft Inception Report

  • Date: 26/05/2016, 14:30 - 16:30 (Registration closed)
  • Location: Jenkins room, Charlemagne Building, Rue de la Loi 170, Brussels
  • Registration closes on : 23/05/2016 12:00

Meeting details

  • Date: 26/05/2016, 14:30 - 16:30 (registration closed)
  • Location: Jenkins room, Charlemagne Building, Rue de la Loi 170, Brussels
  • Registration closes on : 23/05/2016 12:00

The Trade Sustainability Impact Assessment (SIA) in support of negotiations with China was launched in February 2016. The consultants carrying out the SIA are Ecorys.

The SIA inception report describes the methodological approach that the consultant proposes as to ensure an in-depth and comprehensive analysis of economic, social, environmental and human rights impacts, as well as a draft consultation plan.

The purpose of this meeting is to discuss with civil society the draft inception report. The inception report will then be finalised by the consultant, taking stakeholders' contributions into account.

The meeting will provide an opportunity for stakeholders to comment on the methodological approach proposed by the consultants as well as to identify other relevant issues to be further analysed in the course of the SIA.

Lead participants

Ms Alexandra Koutoglidou, Investment Negotiator for China, Investment Unit, Directorate-General for Trade

Ms Delphine Sallard, Head of the Evaluation Unit, Directorate-General for Trade

Mr Joao Pereira, Evaluation Co-ordinator, Evaluation Unit, Directorate-General for Trade

Ms Silvia Formentini, Trade and Sustainable Development Unit, Directorate-General for Trade

Mr Richard Liebrechts, Team Leader, Oxford Intelligence

Dr. Evgueni Poliakov, Senior Environmental Expert

Ms Nora Plaisier, Senior Economic Expert, Ecorys

Ms Stephanie Bouman, Junior Economic Expert , Ecorys

Ms Corine Besseling, Project Coordinator, Ecorys


Ms Montserrat Gago, Co-ordinator relations with civil society, Information, Communication and Civil Society Unit, Directorate-General for Trade



  1. State of play of ongoing negotiations between the EU and China by the European Commission.
  2. Presentation of the SIA Draft Inception Report by Ecorys.
  3. Open discussion with stakeholders.

Related information

EU-China SIA website

EU -China webpages in DG Trade's website

DG Trade Sustainability Impact Assessment webpage

We would be grateful if participants could arrive 30 minutes in advance. A reception desk will be set up in the foyer of the Charlemagne building, where you will receive a badge and gain access to the meeting room. Please bring with you the confirmation email received when you registered for the meeting and an ID card or passport.

Closing date for travel arrangements: 16/05/2016 at 20:00 (Brussels time)

About travel expense.

Related documents

Organisations that have registered to participate in this meeting.

  • Mr Dario Bazargan, Shipyards' and Maritime Equipment Association
  • Mr Diego Benedetti, European Organisation of the Sawmill industry
  • Ms Sylviane Chapelle, European Patent Office
  • Mr François Châtellier, European Patent Office
  • Ms Marina Dr. Trunk-Fedorova, Kiel Center for Eurasian Economic Law
  • Ms Gaelle Dusepulchre, International Federation for Human Rights
  • Mr Maurice Fermont, BUSINESSEUROPE
  • Mrs Claire Grosbois, STARCH EUROPE
  • Ms. Nelli Hajdu, Freshfel Europe - the forum for the European fresh fruits and vegetables chain
  • Mr Alexander Johansen, The Danish Chamber of Commerce
  • Mr Máté Kander, Association des Constructeurs Européens d'Automobiles
  • Ms Marlene Kastner, Wirtschaftskammer Österreich
  • Mr Klemens Kober, Deutscher Industrie- und Handelskammertag e.V.
  • Mr Marc Lauridsen, Danish Shipping
  • Mr Frederic Melchior, European Coordination Committee of the Radiological, Electromedical and healthcare IT Industry
  • Mrs Silvia Melegari, European Organisation of the Sawmill industry
  • Ms Diane Mievis, DIGITALEUROPE
  • Ms Margit MOLNAR, Association des Constructeurs Européens d'Automobiles
  • Mr Jonathan Nguyen, UNIFE
  • Mr Milan Pajic, amfori
  • Mr Stefano Palmieri, European Economic and Social Committee (EESC)
  • Mr Harald Past, EuroCommerce
  • Ms Priscila Quaini, Apex-Brasil Brussels-Europe
  • Mr Gabriel Ranaivoson, Le Cercle de l'Industrie
  • Ms Florence Sarrazin, amfori
  • Ms Lucile Sever, Comité Européen des Entreprises Vins
  • Ms. Ilaria Sticchi, Federazione Nazionale Imprese Elettrotecniche ed Elettroniche
  • Ms Karin Ulmer, ACT Alliance Advocacy to the European Union
  • Ms Maret Veiner, European Committee for Co-operation of the Machine Tool Industries
  • Ms Elena Vyboldina, Eurometaux
  • Ms Lucia Zivec, AeroSpace and Defence Industries Association of Europe