Current portal location

Website content


EU-Korea trade agreement implementation: Project on ILO Convention on employment discrimination – presentation of the draft final report

  • Date: 06/02/2017, 14:30 - 16:30 (Registration closed)
  • Location: Lord Jenkins room, Charlemagne Building, Rue de la Loi 170, Brussels
  • Registration closes on : 01/02/2017 12:00

Meeting details

  • Date: 06/02/2017, 14:30 - 16:30 (registration closed)
  • Location: Lord Jenkins room, Charlemagne Building, Rue de la Loi 170, Brussels
  • Registration closes on : 01/02/2017 12:00

On 28 April 2016, the European Commission launched a project aimed at drawing a comparative study looking into the implementation of ILO Fundamental Convention 111 on the elimination of discrimination in respect of employment and occupation in Member States of the European Union (EU) and in the Republic of Korea. The project aims to identify lessons learned and good practices and, on this basis, provide a set of policy implications and suggestions to the EU and its Member States and to the Korean government.

The project is carried out in close cooperation with the Korean government in the context of the implementation of the Trade and Sustainable Development (TSD) Chapter under the EU-Korea Free Trade Agreement (FTA). It is financed under the EU's Partnership Instrument (PI), which promotes policy cooperation with countries of strategic interest to the EU.

The PI project is consistent with the approach underpinning the TSD Chapter, which promotes transparency and involvement of stakeholders from civil society representing the economic, social and environmental pillars of sustainable development.

The meeting aims at presenting and discussing with representatives from European civil society the findings, policy implications and suggestions of the study. Their views will be taken into consideration by the consultant in charge of the project, Development Solutions Europe Ltd. The study's draft Final Report and summary of key findings can be consulted in the links provided under related document.

Lead Participants

Mr Andreas Julin, Project Coordinator, Trade and Sustainable Development, Directorate-General for Trade

Dr Anthony Michell, Team Leader, Development Solutions Europe Ltd

Mr Ioan-Cristinel Raileanu, EU Expert, Development Solutions Europe Ltd

Ms Emily Hemmings, Project Manager, Development Solutions Europe Ltd

Ms Maayan Morali, Development Solutions Europe Ltd


Ms Montserrat Gago, Information, Communication and Civil Society Unit, Directorate-General for Trade


1. Update on the implementation of the TSD Chapter under the EU-Korea FTA.
2. Presentation of the draft Final Report of the study
3. Open discussion with participants.

Related documents

Draft Final Study - Summary of Key Findings for Practitioners

Draft Final Study Research and Analysis Report

Website of the project

Website of the Domestic Advisory group for the EU-Korea FTA

4th meeting of the Trade and Sustainable Development Committee, 09/09/2015

4th EU-Korea civil society Forum, 10/09/2015

We would be grateful if participants could arrive 30 minutes in advance. A reception desk will be set up in the foyer of the Charlemagne building, where you will receive a badge and gain access to the meeting room. Please bring with you the confirmation email received when you registered for the meeting and an ID card or passport.

Closing date for travel arrangements: 30/01/2017 at 12:00 (Brussels time)

About travel expense.

Organisations that have registered to participate in this meeting.

  • Mr Georgios Altintzis, International Trade Union Confederation
  • Ms Sofia Bournou, BUSINESSEUROPE
  • Ms Charlotte Delvaux, European Chemical Industry Council
  • Mr Dumitru Fornea, European Economic and Social Committee (EESC)
  • Mrs Claire Grosbois, STARCH EUROPE
  • MR Markus Kollberg, Deutscher Industrie- und Handelskammertag e.V.
  • Ms Gunilla Sandberg Fevre-Burdy , European Economic and Social Committee (EESC)
  • Mrs. Henrike Schaum, Bundesarbeitskammer Österreich
  • Mr Georgi Stoev, European Economic and Social Committee (EESC)
  • Ms Petra Voelkerer, Bundesarbeitskammer Österreich
  • Mr Marcus Wolf, European Express Association
  • Ms Monina Wong, International Trade Union Confederation