Current portal location

Website content


Update on TiSA negotiations

  • Date: 18/11/2016, 14:00 - 16:00 (Registration closed)
  • Location: Mansholt room, Charlemagne Building, Rue de la Loi 170, Brussels
  • Registration closes on : 15/11/2016 12:00

Meeting details

  • Date: 18/11/2016, 14:00 - 16:00 (registration closed)
  • Location: Mansholt room, Charlemagne Building, Rue de la Loi 170, Brussels
  • Registration closes on : 15/11/2016 12:00

The purpose of this meeting is to debrief civil society organisations on the state of play in the negotiations of the Trade in Services Agreement (TiSA), including the outcome of the 21st round (2-10 November 2016).

The Trade in Services Agreement ("TiSA") aims at liberalising trade in services and improving rules in areas such as licensing, financial services, telecoms, e-commerce, maritime transport and professionals moving abroad temporarily to provide services.

Negotiation rounds are organised in Geneva and are alternatively chaired by the US, the EU and Australia. The Agreement is currently negotiated by 23 WTO members, including the EU. These countries together account for 70% of world trade in services.

TiSA is based on the WTO's General Agreement on Trade in Services (GATS), which involves all WTO members. The key provisions of the GATS – scope, definitions, market access, national treatment and exemptions – are also found in TiSA.

Lead Participant

Mr Christophe Kiener, Head of Unit, Trade in Services, Directorate-General for Trade


Mr Lutz Guellner, Head of the Information, Communication and Civil Society Unit, Directorate-General for Trade


1. Update on the state of play in TiSA negotiations.

2. Open discussion with stakeholders.

Related documents

DG Trade webpages on TiSA – including negotiation documents proposed by the EU, as well as other supporting documents

We would be grateful if participants could arrive 20/30 minutes in advance. A reception desk will be set up in the foyer of the Charlemagne building, where you will receive a badge and gain access to the meeting room. Please bring with you the confirmation email received when you registered to the meeting and an ID card or passport.

Closing date for travel arrangements: 10/11/2016 at 20:00 (Brussels time)

About travel expense.

Related documents

Organisations that have registered to participate in this meeting.

  • Mr Timothy Adamson, American Chamber of Commerce to the European Union
  • Mr Georgios Altintzis, International Trade Union Confederation
  • Ms Chiara Aprea, Union européenne de l'Artisanat et des petites et moyennes entreprises, aisbl
  • Ms Léa Auffret, Bureau Européen des Unions de Consommateurs
  • Mr Christian Borggreen, Computer & Communications Industry Association
  • Ms Sofia Bournou, BUSINESSEUROPE
  • Mr Jürgen Burggraf, ARD-Verbindungsbüro Brüssel
  • Ms Tanja Buzek, European Economic and Social Committee (EESC)
  • Ms Valentina Caimi, Platform of European Social NGOs
  • Ms Eleonora Catella, BUSINESSEUROPE
  • Mr Michel Cermak, Centre National de Coopération au Développement- 11 11 11
  • Mr Eduardo Chagas, European Transport Workers' Federation
  • Ms Penny Clarke, European Federation of Public Service Unions
  • Ms Susan Cohen Jehoram, Greenpeace European Unit
  • Mr. Marton Csirik, ICMP, the global voice of music publishing
  • Ms Charlotte Delvaux, European Chemical Industry Council
  • Ms Hanna Deringer, European Centre for International Political Economy
  • Ms Bianca Drogosch , Verband Kommunaler Unternehmen e.V.
  • Ms Maryant Fernández, European Digital Rights
  • Ms Nadine Fischer, CEEP - European Centre of Employers and Enterprises providing Public Services and Services of General Interest
  • Mr Simon Fleischmann, Verband Deutscher Maschinen- und Anlagenbau e.V.
  • Mr David Frautschy Heredia, European Telecommunications Network Operators' Association
  • Ms Mireya García de Murcia, ASSOCIATION EUROPÉENNE DU COMMERCE DE FRUITS ET LÉGUMES DE L'UE - European Fruit and Vegetables Trade Association
  • Mr Renaat Hanssens, Confédération des Syndicats Chrétiens
  • Mr Nicolas HIPP, Délégation des Barreaux de France
  • Ms Louise Hoj Larsen , European Trade Union Committee for Education
  • MS Lisa Idinger, Insurance Europe
  • Mr Johannes Imminger, CEEP - European Centre of Employers and Enterprises providing Public Services and Services of General Interest
  • Ms Xenia Iwaszko, IFPI Representing recording industry worldwide
  • Mr Julien Juret, Délégation des Barreaux de France
  • Ms Linda Kaucher, European Services Strategy Unit (funded)
  • Ms Chiara Kessler, Netherlands Maritime Technology
  • MR Sune Knudsen, Landsorganisationen i Danmark
  • Ms. Justine Korwek, Trans-Atlantic Business Council
  • Mr Hans Kotzan, European Federation of Public Service Unions
  • Mr Filip Julius Lassahn, Kassenärztliche Bundesvereinigung
  • Mr. Frederico Martins, Direct Selling Europe
  • Ms Diane Mievis, DIGITALEUROPE
  • Mr Ioannis Pallas, Comité Européen des Entreprises Vins
  • Mr Harald Past, EuroCommerce
  • Ms Sandra Penning , Chambre de commerce et d'industrie de région Paris Ile-de-France
  • Ms Priscila Quaini, Apex-Brasil Brussels-Europe
  • Ms Delphine Roth, Fédération Française de l'Assurance
  • Mr Florian Sanden, Bundesarbeitsgemeinschaft der Freien Wohlfahrtspflege e.V.
  • Mr Johannes Scheiger, Verband der Chemischen Industrie e.V.
  • Mr Stephan Schwerdtfeger, Deutscher Caritasverband e. V.
  • Ms Elisa Setién, European Association of Chemical Distributors
  • Ms Mariann Skar, European Alcohol Policy Alliance
  • Mr Joakim Smedman, Brussels Office of the Swedish Trade Unions
  • Ms Shira Stanton, Greenpeace European Unit
  • Ms Hanane Taidi, The International Federation of Inspection Agencies
  • Mr Ryota Tsunemi, Japan Business Council in Europe
  • Mr. Mark van der Horst, European Express Association
  • Ms Corien Van Pinxteren, Vereniging VNO-NCW
  • Mr Jonas Van Riet, Standing Committee of European Doctors
  • Ms Sophie Windisch, Wirtschaftskammer Österreich
  • Ms Kristina Wittkopp, Transport and Environment (European Federation for Transport and Environment)
  • Ms Emma Woodford, Health and Trade Network
  • Ms Katinka Clausdatter Worsøe, The Danish Chamber of Commerce
  • Mr Moritz Yvon, Bundesarbeitskammer Österreich