Current portal location

Website content

News archive

Aid for trade | Nairobi, 14 December 2015

EU and several of its Member States support Phase Two of the Enhanced Integrated Framework

Continuing their support to Least Developed Countries (LDCs) to benefit more from the multilateral trading system, the European Union (EU) and several of its individual Member States (Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Luxemburg, the Netherlands, Sweden, and United Kingdom) have pledged support for the second phase of the Enhanced Integrated Framework (EIF).

At the Pledging Conference on 14 December 2015 in Nairobi, they announced donations worth EUR 57 million combined, which amount to about two thirds of the total pledges made. The Pledging Conference took place the day before the opening of the 10th Ministerial Conference of the World Trade Organization (WTO).

The EIF supports LDCs to use trade as a vehicle for economic growth and poverty reduction by mainstreaming trade into their development policies and building capacity to trade. The EU has supported the EIF since the beginning and welcomes the efforts underway to achieve even more results in the second phase, which will start on 1 January 2016.

The contributions to the EIF are part of a much larger effort on behalf of the EU to assist the most vulnerable countries to benefit from international trade. As the largest Aid for Trade donor, the EU and its Member States provided over EUR 11 billion in both 2012 and 2013, consecutive record amounts. Aid for Trade exclusively to LDCs is increasing and reached EUR 2.6 billion in 2013.


For more information on