Rules of origin under free-trade agreements

The EU has free trade agreements (FTAs) with individual countries throughout the world. Beyond the usual Chapter providing for preferential tariff treatment, these agreements also often include clauses on trade facilitation and rule-making in areas such as investment, intellectual property, government procurement, technical standards and sanitary and phytosanitary issues.

The rules of origin applicable to a country's products are set out in an Origin Protocol attached to the specific agreement between the EU and the country concerned.

Below, you can find the list of EU trade partner countries with links to the respective Origin Protocols.

Introduction to EU rules of origin

European Economic Area

Association Agreement

Autonomous Trade Preferences

Customs Unions

Countries with rules of origin under the Pan-Euro-Mediterranean Convention

Deep and Comprehensive Free Trade Areas

Free Trade Agreements

Free Trade Agreement Chile and Mexico

Free Trade Agreement Colombia, Peru and Ecuador

Free Trade Agreement Central America

Free Trade Agreements Euromed

Economic Partnership Agreement CAR

Economic Partnership Agreement - ESA

Market Access Regulation (MAR)

Economic Partnership Agreement - Pacific Region

Economic Partnership Agreement SADC

Generalised Scheme of Preferences (GSP)

Generalised System of Preferences Plus (GSP+)

Footnotes :

* This designation is without prejudice to position on status, and is in line with UN Security Council Resolution 1244/99 and the International Court of Justice Opinion on the Kosovo declaration of independence.

** This designation shall not be construed as recognition of a State of Palestine and is without prejudice to the individual positions of EU Member States on this issue.