Glossary term:

Overseas countries and territories

OCTs are administrative units spreading from the Poles to the Tropics, associated with the European Union. All are islands, of which three have no permanent population.

Although small in either size or population, or both, due to their constitutional relationships with Denmark, France and the Netherlands, the OCTs play an important role as outposts of the Union in the areas where they are located, but do not, however, form part neither of the EU territory, nor of the EU single market.

Share this page:

Quick links